Personal Motto

I read an article recently about things you learn in your 40s (http://www.nytimes.com/2014/03/01/opinion/sunday/what-you-learn-in-your-40s.html?_r=0). Two paragraphs that really struck a chord with me:

“If you worry less about what people think of you, you can pick up an astonishing amount of information about them. You no longer leave conversations wondering what just happened. Other people’s minds and motives are finally revealed.

People are constantly trying to shape how you view them. In certain extreme cases, they seem to be transmitting a personal motto, such as “I have a relaxed parenting style!”; “I earn in the low six figures!”; “I’m authentic and don’t try to project an image!””

The first paragraph talks about something we already know we should probably do which is to stop worrying about what others think of us. And maybe the second paragraph is just the first paragraph from a different angle but it really struck a chord with me – I realized that I am truly always trying to do this and that I do have a personal motto that I try to convey to people of who I am. I am not only worrying about what people think of me, I am actively trying to shape their opinions… it gave me more clarity into myself and what I think my personal mottos are. I often find that I get overwhelmed thinking of what values represent me, but now here I have a clear idea – its what I try to convey to others – well a part of me is anyway…

Leave a Reply

