Goodbye

It didn’t happen suddenly
And yet, I feel like it is
An abrupt ending
Just like that
We were going down the same road
But then I got pregnant
And you got married
You bought a house
I decided to move
And suddenly our parallel paths diverged
So far
that we couldn’t hear each other talking
We were to far away from each other
We had to yell to be heard
And all the while we kept moving
Faster towards where we were meant to be
Further away from each other
And then just like that
you were gone
I couldn’t see you anymore
And you couldn’t see me

I look sideways and you’re not there
I am angry
I look backwards and remember how it used to be
Why did this happen? I follow the paths and the divergence
Somehow trying to accept it

Goodbye

Post by Humans of New York.

Leave a Reply

